Unofficial School Board Meeting Minutes

Unofficial Minutes of Regular Meeting - January 24, 2019

The Board of Trustees - Athens Independent School District    


A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Athens Independent School District was held Thursday, January 24, 2019, beginning at 6:00 PM in the District Support Center Board Room, 104 Hawn Street, Athens, Texas.


I. Call to Order/Certify Notice/Establish Quorum

Mr. Robert Risko, President of the Board of Trustees, announced a quorum of Board Members was present and called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Members present: Mr. Robert Risko, Mr. Eric Smith, Mrs. Gina Hunter, Mr. Eugene Buford, Mr. Freddie Paul, Mrs. Alicea Elliott, Mrs. Renda Garner, Mrs. Kari Wilmeth

Members absent: None

Also present were: Tony Brooks, Director of Technology; Jami Ivey, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum, Instruction and Accountability; Ginger Morrison, Director of Federal Programs & Human Resources; Claudia Stiles, SAE Principal; Henry C. Tracy, AHS Principal; Barry Choate, Director of Operations; Chetan Patel; Chris House; Nick Rosenberg; Tim Hensley; Kristi Gore Stewart; Cathy Kirkland; Nicole Cornish; Brenda Garrard; Tony Sikes; Lisa Howell, BAE Principal; Jennifer Livingston; Jen Risinger, AMS Principal; Jennifer Nicholson; Jake Shirley; Jason Iglehart; Brooke Brock, Director of Special Populations; Randy Jones, Chief Financial Officer; Margaret Richardson; Toni Clay, Communications Coordinator; Shannon Pursley, CAE Principal; Roy Clay; Dr. Janie Sims, Deputy Superintendent; Gail Carnes, Executive Assistant; and Blake Stiles, Superintendent.


II. Invocation was given by Mr. Eric Smith.


III. Pledge of Allegiance was given to the national and state flags.


IV. Recognition of School Board Members

Toni Clay, Communications Coordinator, recognized the Board of Trustees for their unwavering dedication to the students of our school district. Board members and their families were treated to dinner prior to the regular scheduled meeting. With the theme “Planting Seeds of Success” for January Texas School Board Appreciation month, Board members were presented with several items relating to that theme. Planters with seed packets from BAE, bird feeders from AMS, cookies in the shape of seed packets and flowers from SAE, succulent plants from AHS in flower pots from the DSC, handmade pen set from AHS construction science class, and nameplates made by the AHS Ag Sciences class were some of the items. All elementary campuses made posters and wrote thank you letters to the Board of Trustees.


Board President Mr. Robert Risko presented Mrs. Renda Garner, resigning board member, a plaque along with his and the board’s appreciation for her service to Athens ISD.


V. Newly Appointed Board of Trustee Takes Oath of Office

Notary Public Gail Carnes administered the Oath of Office to the newly appointed board member, Kari Wilmeth, for Place 6.


VI. Elect Secretary of the Board

Nominations were opened for election of Board Secretary after Mrs. Renda Garner’s resignation. Mr. Robert Risko nominated Eugene Buford and was seconded by Mrs. Alicea Elliott. All were in favor. Motion carried 7:0.

VII. Recognize Athens High School AP Scholar Students

Clay Tracy, High School Principal, introduced Nicole Cornish, AHS Dean of ECHS, who then introduced the AP Scholars to the Board. AP Scholars, students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams, are Madeline Clay, Lauryn Gore, Lily Mahmoud, Jacob Moore, and Aryn Rodriguez.


VIII. Information Items

A. Administrative Reports

Blake Stiles, Superintendent, introduced to the Board the new Athletic Director, Zac Harrell. He also informed the Board that AISD has the opportunity to lock in electricity rates for the future. We are in contact with our electricity consultant and may have an action item for the February meeting. He also stated the home side concession stand is coming down at Bruce Field.


IX. Action Items

A. Consider Expenditures Over $50,000

1. Consider HVAC Proposals

Motion was made by Mrs. Alicea Elliott and seconded by Mr. Eric Smith that trustees approve the HVAC units proposal from Cole Air Conditioning Co. Inc. of Athens at a base price of $986,926 with substantial completion date of 90 days from the date of acceptance and approval for the transfer of $1,000,000 from the Local Maintenance fund balance to the Capital Projects fund as presented. Motion carried 7:0.

B. Consider Granting Superintendent and Deputy Superintendent Final Authority for

Selection of Personnel from February 1, 2019 until August 31, 2019

Motion was made by Mr. Eric Smith and seconded by Mr. Eugene Buford that trustees grant the Superintendent and Deputy Superintendent final authority for selection of personnel from February 1, 2019 until August 31, 2019 as presented. Motion carried 7:0.

C. Consider 2019-2020 School Calendar Amendment

Motion was made by Mrs. Alicea Elliott and seconded by Mr. Eric Smith that trustees approve the amendments to the 2019-2020 school calendar as presented. Motion carried 7:0.


X. Consent Agenda

A. Minutes of the Regular Meeting Held onDecember 20, 2018, Special Meeting Held on

January 14, 2019 and Special Meeting Held on January 17, 2019

B. Financial Statements for the Month of November 2018

C. Quarterly Investment Report

D. Order Board of Trustee Election for May 4, 2019 to fill the expired terms of Place 5, Place

6 and Place 7

Motion was made by Mrs. Alicea Elliott and seconded by Mrs. Gina Hunter that the consent agenda items be approved as presented. Motion carried 7:0.


XI. Executive Session Discussion

A. Employment of Contract Employees - Texas Gov't Code 551.074

At 6:26 p.m., the Board President announced that trustees would adjourn to executive session as authorized by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code and/or Education Code concerning any and all purposes permitted by the Act. Should any final action, final decision, or final vote be required, then the final action, final decision, or final vote shall take place in open session. The Board returned to open session at 7:21 p.m.



XII. Open Session - Executive Session Action

A. Employment of Contract Employees - Texas Gov't Code 551.074

Motion was made by Mr. Eric Smith and seconded by Mrs. Alicea Elliott that trustees approve the professional personnel contracts for:

Chelsea Brown

Josey Vaughan

Samuel Clark Harrell

Christin Herron

Motion carried 7:0.


XIII. Audience Participation

No one signed up to speak prior to the meeting.




XIV. Adjourn

Being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:22 p.m.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.